NCAEOP History

In 1951, the North Carolina Association of Educational Secretaries was organized. The name of the association became the North Carolina Association of Educational Office Personnel, Inc., in 1973, and in 1993, the membership voted to change the name to the North Carolina Association of Educational Office Professionals, Inc. Membership is open to educational office personnel and administrators within the educational system (public and private) in North Carolina. No other educational association in this state makes itself so readily accessible to a single professional class of persons who cover the complete spectrum of education.

NCAEOP is comprised of a board of directors which consists of president, president elect, vice president, secretary, immediate past president, and fourteen district presidents. Subject to the NCAEOP constitution and bylaws, the elected officers carry out the functions of the association. Officers of NCAEOP, with the exception of treasurer, are elected and installed at the annual conference in March. The treasurer, appointed by the president and approved by the board of directors, is a permanent position. For a listing of the county and city school districts served by NCAEOP and a map of the state that lets you see the districts click here.

NCAEOP is made up of fourteen districts. At least one district meeting with inservice training is held each year in addition to local unit meetings. Officer positions and committee work allow members to be involved in the decision-making of the association at the local, district, and state levels.

NCAEOP is your professional association. A giant step toward professionalism can be made by becoming a NCAEOP member.